Registeration No. 9385

C/o: Bank Of India Bldg., Mahatma Gandhi Road, Fort., Mumbai, Pin: 400 023 | Date : 29/02/2024 | Day : Thursday | Office of the General Secretary : C/o Bank of india ,Bokaro Steel City Branch,E- 17, City Centre, Bokaro, Jharkhand. Pin-827004 E-Mail Address : Fedgensec@Gmail.com


AIBEA'S Clarion Call. March on to Nationwide General Strike on 26th Novemer 2020.


Join us on, Sunday 18th October,sharp at 11.00 AM for FOBOISU - President & Working President's Address on our ongoing agitional progaramme against management. Click on the above link to start the live telecast at 11.00 AM on Sunday 18th October.Please do not miss this important event..

It is learnt that the management has opened a special window till 31. 10. 2020 allowing those Award Staff who have not claimed reimbursement of petrol expenses in previous quarters to claim. It is further learnt from the management's instruction that those Award Staff who will not claim reimbursement of petrol expenses till 31. 10. 2020 will lapse. The grounds put forth by the management for such a step is stated to be Income Tax issue and also cumulative load of expenses in a quarter in which Award Staff will lodge claim thereof. Both are fallacious argument. Moreover, is our bank's financials are so fragile as to unable to bear the load in one quarter? Furthermore, The step taken by the management is motivated and designed to create confusion/ division among members.. let us not fall prey to divisive game of the management. The members have so far lodged strong protest by not lodging claim. As per data released by management more than 14000 Award Staffs have not claimed on the advice of the Federation. It is also to be noted that the management has now reacted to the protest lodged by the members. *Members are advised to wait for the decision of the Federation in the matter. We will communicate our decision within a couple of days. In the meantime, members are advised not to lodge claim.* We will collectively tackle the management's divisive game plan.

AIBEA's Call- Observe Anti Bank Privatisation Day on 14th Sept 2020. Follow guidelines as per circular.

Congratulations comrades, MoU for 11th Bipartite Settlement signed by UFBU on 22.07.2020. Wihin 90 days final Settlement will be completed.




Our past has been a glorious one. When we look back at the early period of our movement by employees of Bank of India, it is necessary to exhibit the days before the formation of Federation prior to 12th April, 1951. The Bank of India Ltd. was one of the leading Private Bank ruled by industrial empires. Though it was an Indian Bank and the Directors were Indian, the Bank was managed mainly by Englishmen. The names such as Sir Sasoon Dravid, an wealthiest jews, Sir Cowasjee Jahangir (who was lending money to East India Company), Sir Chunnilal Meheta, the cotton king of Bombay were associated with the Bank of India Ltd. Indian History from 1940 to 1946 was one of the tremendous upheavals and turmoil. There was powerful awakening amongst the working class alongside the Freedom Struggle. In this atmosphere, employees of Bank of India formed a Union at Bombay in 1946. Sir Abid Ali Jafferbhoy who later became Deputy Labour Minster at Centre was first President. Immediately after formation of the Union a Charter of Demand was submitted and strike notice served on bank management. One day, after banking hours, an unknown hero, a member of sub-staff Com. Narayan Kanchan ran around departments of Head Office at the ground floor of Oriental Building (Bombay) ringing a bell announcing the commencement of the strike. The strike went on for 13 days from 23rd June to 4th July 1946. The Government of Bombay had declared the strike illegal under Defence of India Act. Employees were coerced and intimidated. They stood firm and united. The management found that strikers could not be suppressed, negotiation started and at last settlement was arrived at. The pay scale as per the settlement was Rs.65/- to Rs.275/- with span of 17 years plus fixed DA of Rs.30/-. The workmen of Bank of India created a history by succeeding Bilateral Wage Settlement during pre-independence period and much before AIBEA came into action. This inspiring victory electrified all the bank employees of the entire country. In the year 1951 three major unions of employees at Bombay, Ahmedabad and Calcutta initiated formation of Provisional Committee of Federation on 12th April 1951. In due course the organisation expanded to all States of our country comprising 24 units under banner of AIBEA. After formation of Federation in the year 1951, the bank management attempted to change revert the pay scales and freezing DA. Aggrieved workmen under the newly formed Federation called an indefinite strike from 24.12.1951 and continued for 42 days. During the strike action, the bank dismissed six leaders including Com. V. M. Chitnis. After Federation went on strike the employees of the Bank of Baroda Ltd. And the Bank of Jaipur Ltd. also went on strike for 2 days on 27th and 28th December 1951. After the strike started spreading all over the country, the Government appointed the National Tribunal i.e. Shastri Tribunal on 5th January 1952 by an Ordinance, simultaneously prohibiting the strike by another Ordinance. The strikers defied the ordinance till the dismissed leaders were reinstated. These ups and downs created a ground for a established industrial relation in our Bank. The Federation during its journey and struggle arrived at settlements. Promotion of Sub-Staff to Clerks, Promotion of Clerks to Officers, Fitment on Promotions, Assignment of Special Pay posts such as Special Assistant, Head Cashier, Computer Operators, Regularization of Casual Workers which are first of its kind in the Banking Industry. The Federation is represented in the Board of Directors through Workmen Director elected/ selected in the organizational forum. Under the purview of the participative management, the Federation is the sole bargaining Agent in the Central Consultative Committee of Award Staff and its constituent units are representing the Zonal Consultative Committees. The Federation also represents Central Welfare Committee, Central Sports Council, Central Customer Service Committee and Committee on Prevention of Fraud. In the process of discussions and mutual negotiations with Management, the Federation could achieve Staff Housing Loan Scheme, Provident Fund Scheme, Vehicle Loan Scheme, Death Relief Scheme, BOI Staff Benevolent Scheme, Uniform for Subordinate Staff and Armed Guards, Milestone Award, Group Savings Linked Insurance Scheme, Health Check-up facilities for Award Staff, Additional Increments for subordinate staff for passing SSC and BOI Retired Employees Medical Assistance Scheme. Apart from employees benefit, the Federation continues its struggle for restoration of Bank’s health and express its concern over deteriorating asset quality and rise of NPA. The Federation is glorified with leaders viz. Com. Ramesh Chakraborty, Com. G.G. Dholakia, Com. G. N. Trikanand, Com. K. J. Joseph, Com. Sushil Ghosh, Com. V.M.Chitnis, Com. N.Sampath, Com. N.S.Purao, Com. J.M.Paranjpe, Com. J.G.K.Murthy, Com. J.M.Vyas, Com. T.S.Kelawala, Com. J.S.Bailur, Com. Nandu Chavan, Com. Rameswar Prasad and Com. Dinesh Jha Lallan. During the years, the Federation tried and succeeded to bring back those members who left us in the past and joined in rival unions. Comrades of Chennai, Karnataka and in many other States they were back home. The glory of the Federation is achieved through struggles, would always be written in toil and tears of the past generation, The Leaders and all unknown comrades which shall create a better future and better world for the working class.

*/ ?>
© 2015-FOBOISU